Wha-!? How!? Why!? – Day 4: Most Overrated Anime

Translating this one as anime I’d prefer people didn’t watch so as to prevent the industry from taking away the wrong ideas from their popularity and success, and as a result producing tons of anime I’d rather not see polluting the pool of resources for other shows, i.e. if a certain amazing team of staff members is busy making shitty light novel adaptations instead of accepting a deal to make a potentially way more awesome adaptation or an original work as amazing as possible, then it’s a loss for that work seeing its full potential realized.

I can’t verify this claim with scientific accuracy or anything, but to me it’s a matter of if one production team is working on one thing they can’t work on something else that may be of more substance and interest. At least not to any exceptional degree they might have had they worked on one alone. I am of course, speaking for myself here. Anyone who likes the shows I mention obviously doesn’t have this issue.

F5F

Obviously, I don’t see this as something too major of a concern, but I’m simply assigning a more defined approach to the list I’ve been given, and because I don’t care for the term “overrated”. Don’t let this discourse get in the way of your enjoyment with any of the shows I mention here. Try and understand I prefer to praise the anime I enjoy over tearing down the ones I don’t (mostly because so many others already have and I just nod my head in agreement), and that my feelings here are not attacks on anyone for liking them.

vlcsnap-2014-10-06-16h03m38s55

I’m probably not going to make any friends with this list, but that being said, there is a part of me that would like to see the discussion and viewership of these shows deteriorate. Again, their popularity and praise doesn’t bother me as much as it might have not too long ago, but I feel inclined to go along with this challenge all the same:

Attack on Titan

Yes, I did have a phase where I really enjoyed the first season and listened to the opening everyday as motivation to workout. However, it’s been years since then and season two only came out recently, and honestly I’ve lost interest. I don’t hate it, but at this point it’s more of a meme to me than anything else. The appeal isn’t lost on me though, and I might pick up season two just to see what it’s like, but I have a feeling it’s not something I’ll see through to completion.

Attack-on-Titan

Black Butler

Ciel and Sebastian intrigued me years ago, but everything else just put me off. The rest of the cast are either annoying screw-ups intended to be comic relief, but not the kind I find funny or endearing, or one-note obsessed characters. It feels at odds with itself in tone and character. Don’t care enough to elaborate further on it, other than I don’t care for mysteries unless there’s something else that I find interesting. And in this case, at least for me, there isn’t. Can’t fathom this show’s popularity, apart from appealing to the Bishoujo fans? You tell me. Perhaps it changes and “gets better” later on, but I have my doubts and reservations it does so drastically enough to warrant a return from me. It would have to become almost entirely different for me to watch it, and even then, I don’t plan on doing so. What can I say besides it’s just not my cup of tea?

black_butler_35437-1400x1050

Fairy Tail

Watched the entire first series, and while there was a phase in my adolescence where I enjoyed the kickass celtic music inspiring me to workout for a good while, the closer I got to the end the more I realized how terrible it really was and now I feel like I wasted a lot of hours on something I’ll never be able to look back fondly on. Nostalgia for the loss.

Mavis_disappointed

Eromanga-Sensei

Baffled as to how this show is so popular. It’s not even good as a meme, let alone a series. Perhaps it’s become a trend to popularize shows with negative critical reception, but there’s probably a lot more to it then that? I’m honestly at my wit’s end with this one. Is it like how people hear something’s bad but check it out anyway just to see how bad it is? There seems to be many people who actually like this show, but I just don’t see anything appealing or redeeming about it. Not to say it’s “overrated”, but it sure did quickly become the go-to anime last season for everyone to talk and write about. Hopefully it’s popularity will only dwindle in the coming weeks as we enter the new seasons of anime, and it may very well fade into obscurity, but who knows with these things? It could just as easily remain popular for years to come, maybe not in viewership, but likely a lingering memory of this year’s popular anime.

maxresdefault (1)

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

Admittedly, I have only watched one episode of this, but my impression is made regardless, as the narrative’s direction of that one episode felt kinda insulting to me. I felt like I was being forced to care about these characters. No tact about it, and lacking in sincerity, or at least not good enough execution to make it feel sincere. I will not grow to love the characters, and the humour is already decidedly recycled from countless other anime I have seen, and does not appeal to me. The few exchanges between the two leads in the first episode was honestly enough for me to give up on this show. It made me not want them to hook up, and the cover indicates that that is either going to happen, or be strongly hinted at happening to infuriatingly annoying degrees. I do not have the time to grow to love characters from a show that could not be bothered convincing to me to like anything about them or the surrounding narrative in the first episode. Read kapodaco’s post on it if you want a better idea of how I feel about it. I don’t agree with everything he says, but he has watched it to completion.

rNYubdR
How I imagine the faces of this show’s fandom right now

Sword Art Online

Believe it or not, this doesn’t bother me as much as I thought it did. Probably because I dropped it before finishing the first arc, and thus never really experienced the truly terrible parts the series had to offer, except through others’ analysis and discussion of it. And as much flak and criticism as it gets, it still remains one of the most popular and successful anime in the last decade or so, and perhaps even of all-time. If you’re one of the people who actually likes this show, and hates all the “hate” the show gets, well you’re actually in the majority. Most people seem to like SAO, despite being aware of its flaws – which a lot of them aren’t because they don’t watch analysis videos or write blogs.

FFF-Sword-Art-Online-II-02-88D98288.mkv_snapshot_09.48_2014.07.13_19.26.38-640x360

And because of its immense popularity and success there has been a surge of both light novel adaptations and more being trapped in another (video game) world type anime. However, I will thank it if I ever find out its success led to or was part of the reason for Log Horizon happening. A happy accident, I imagine, but now we have to deal with even more light novel adaptations coming out. Though, this could present an opportunity for a Baccano or Spice & Wolf revival if the demand is high enough, so maybe it’s such a terrible thing in the long-run. Regardless, it is fun to make jokes about this sort of thing.

Tldr; Also Tokyo Ghoul… but I hear the manga’s better.

~ Ace

2 thoughts on “Wha-!? How!? Why!? – Day 4: Most Overrated Anime”

    1. Yeah, wasn’t too hard to think of any, but couldn’t decide which bothered me the most, so just ended up listing the big ones.

      Yours was a good post. Was really glad to read it as it reflected a lot of the feelings and problems I had just from one episode. Don’t know how you managed to finish it, but if it means turning out a solid post like that maybe it was worth it?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

