30 Day Anime Challenge – No One Asked For It, But Here It Is

Here’s a fun little exercise many other ani-bloggers seem to be doing, and have been doing for quite some time now. Thought it’d be interesting to try my hand at one myself, and see if I can make something worth reading out of it (results may vary).

d80b108e414a241086accc97dc2726abfdc4a34b_hq

Figured since I haven’t been posting much recently – I’ve been scatter-brained with ideas, and been wanting to write about so many things for a while now, but been lacking in the discipline to just decide on one and focus all my thinking on it – it’s as good a time as any to do this sort of thing. So, expect a post concerning this challenge listed below, every so often (no promises for consistency).

30-day-anime-challenge-e1495940169705
[totally (not) stealing this from Karandi]
I won’t be adhering to any strict interpretation of the challenges listed. I see them as guidelines rather than something I can’t be lenient towards. So if it turns out I was supposed to list only one pick per challenge, well too bad. Sometimes I just can’t limit my decision that specific.

Honestly, I haven’t thought so much about any anime or specific aspect regarding anything anime to have figured out my absolute favourite with no uncertainty and a long list of reasons why. It’s something I’ve been meaning to get to the bottom of, but I’d need to rewatch a lot of shows and analyze them all individually in order to figure that out. And I have a tough time focusing on things, especially when I’m constantly thinking about watching the next thing, or an old classic I should have watched years ago.

f52dca16860885927c0df9d2830ac7ac90c47df9_hq

And even then my opinions are always changing in some way, the more I learn about something, or having a different experience coming back to it now that I’m older or have a different mindset. I have eclectic tastes after all. So, while I’m not entirely sure how or why I feel about regarding a lot of what I’ve watched, the answers I give are not insincere. I assure you I have strong feelings and thoughts on many of the answers I give, and for the ones I feel almost foreign to, I give preface explaining my stance, or lack thereof there. I’m only really beginning to grapple with these thoughts in the last year or so, gradually improving my understanding of what I like and dislike and why. It’s a journey and I hope to have a better understanding of things in the coming years.

My answers will most likely be long-winded in explanation with scruples concerning a lot of them, i.e. I tend to skip EDs in anime a lot, so my answer regarding my favourite will be of the few I actually bothered to sit through, and even then don’t really care too much about them. I’ll go into more detail on that specifically later in its own post, but for now I just wanted to make it clear that I might not have a proper answer for some of the questions listed in the challenge.

1458446816065

Also as much as I’d love to publish all the posts subsequently one after another, I won’t be able to keep a perfect record of meeting everyday consecutively in a row because I’ll be going away for a week in August, and I also want to try and get out other content in-between. So, while I am writing all these ahead of time, the schedule for posting them is intentionally loose. Though this could turn around and end up shooting me in the foot, as I have a bad habit of not finishing what I start, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.

Without further ado, let the thirty day anime challenge commence!

~ Ace

5 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge – No One Asked For It, But Here It Is”

    1. Why thank you.

      I’m hoping I won’t stumble too hard on my answers. I honestly have no idea what I’m going to do for certain days – like the one about favourite pet / mascot. I’m stumped atm for that one, since it’s not something I ever think about. Beyond that though, I want to be more elaborate in my explanation for at least some of my answers. Hope they serve to entertain, if not interest.

      Like

  1. Best of luck with the challenge! I keep thinking about maybe giving this a go one of these days but I can’t decide which version I’d like to attempt (or maybe I’ll just cheat by changing out some of the hard questions for personally easier ones of my own choosing. No one will know… right?). I’m looking forward to seeing your responses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheating is fine imo. There’s no strict rules, only general assumptions people believe to be rules here. Think of the challenge as an excuse to play with your thoughts on certain ideas rather than worry too much about narrowing your opinions down to a single choice. It’s supposed to be a fun exercise, not something you should feel stressed about adhering to so strictly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

