Some AMV Love: 75 Recommendations

Here I want to try something experimental and take a look through my playlists and share and talk about my favorite AMVs. This is not necessarily a “best-of” list because I obviously do not watch every AMV.

AMV-HypnoStarCard

It should also be noted that I do not particularly like all of the ones listed below, and some of them are just there to fill space (not that any are bad per se, just some aren’t anything to marvel at). Since there is a lot to get through, I’ll try and keep my reasons brief. Here they are, in no specified order:

AMV – Rіdе οr Dіe

Fast and Furious is a franchise near and dear to my heart, and Redline is a kickass eyegasm fest of what I consider to be a close contender to its anime equivalent (if even only for the racing aspect). So, to take the movie and play a song used from a Fast trailer adds another level of enjoyment in this particular video for me.

Amv – War of Two

Lelouch is a fascinating character, and one with a mission on his mind (though his reasons change, the end goal more or less remains the same). And Disturbed’s “Indestructible” feels strangely fitting for a character with such a brilliant, tactician of a mind.

Black Lagoon AMV – Welcome to the jungle

Black Lagoon is such an action-packed thrill ride of an anime, and “Welcome to the Jungle” is such a cool summation of the happenings within Roanapur.

Black Lagoon AMV – Click Click Boom

“Click Click Boom” goes well with gun imagery, which is quite prominent in Black Lagoon. To be honest both the AMV and song have lost their touch with me, but still kinda works (very low recommendation at best).

Black Lagoon AMV – Ignition

Sticking with Black Lagoon, here’s a more appropriate song befitting of the danger and fun that lurks behind the corners of its crazy violent city.

Black Lagoon AMV – Sound of madness

So much Black Lagoon. Taps into its lens of pariahood.

RWBY – Glitter and Gold

Bending the rules already, since it’s still debatable as to whether RWBY is anime or not. Not something I care about the semantics of, but for the sake of argument let’s refer to AMV as “Animated Music Video” to cover all the bases. I really enjoyed the editing in this one to match the sounds to the action in the show.

Rock Lee vs. Gaara – The Hell Song

One of my all-time favourite fights from Naruto, and whether or not you think the song fits with the show or Rock Lee’s character (which I do), and despite its mediocrity, I feel the AMV itself is sort of an underdog that I can root for in tune to the song.

AMV – Go Berzerk [Akross Con 2013]

Love Kill la Kill. Love Eminem. Great pair here.

AMV – Тhе Αskіng Ρrіcе

Sadness of song matched with the tragic moments of FMAB. Lyrics flow well with transitions here.

[One Piece] Zoro AMV – What I Believe

Only picked because Zoro proves stronger than the AMV (which serves as a weak presentation of his greatness).

AMV – Hаll οf Fаme

While I do prefer the RWBY version of this song, I had to have DBZ somewhere here, and considering all the feats Goku’s pulled, this song captures that well.

AMV – Borderland

“Invincible” by Adelitas Way to the fast-paced editing of Jormungand… Well done.

Amv – Іnhumаnіty

If any anime was to capture the madness of “Enemies” by Shinedown, it was going to be Hellsing.

AMV – [MEP] Glаd Yοu Cаme

A bright and warm-hearted multi-AMV.

AMV You Know My Name

Code Geass. Lelouch commands you to watch it.

AMV Louder Than Words

An apposite somber song for the cruel and unfair world of SnK.

AMV Soul Eaters Anonymous

A personal favourite of mine that makes “We Are Young” by 3OH!3 help connect me back to my time with Soul Eater. Love ones that try and edit scenes to match the lyrics.

AMV Outbreak

Okay…. So maybe that wasn’t the last Black Lagoon AMV, but you’d be remiss in not watching this one.

AMV Tomboy

Maybe skip this one if you’re sick of Black Lagoon at this point (I swear this isn’t on purpose!).

AMV – DANGER DAYS – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV

Panty & Stocking + “Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na)” by My Chemical Romance? YES PLEASE!

AMV Desert Legends

Something about “Bad To The Bone” by George Thorogood And The Destroyers that makes the desert landscape and characters of Trigun seem even cooler (which I didn’t think was possible).

AMV Boring Metropolis

Durarara!! High energy anime. Quick transitions to the fast-paced beat of “How Far We’ve Come” by Matchbox Twenty.

This is War ~ FMAB

Damn. This is probably the best FMAB AMV ever. Oh, and spoilers.

AMV Final Spark

Love Fate/Zero. Love Icon For Hire. Put them together in a well-edited video and I’m sold.

AMV Ship Happens

For the lulz.

AMV Vintage Misery

Holy shit. This makes Soul Eater feel so intense!

150% Lobotomy – Anime MV ♫ AMV

Haven’t brushed up on my French in years, but always want to whenever I listen to what I can only describe as an almost punk vibe (considering the edgy lyrics), which acts in perfect unison to the brilliant editing of incredibly befitting scenes from FMAB. Absolute favourite.

AMV Call of Geass

While I’m not a fan of Call of Duty (anymore), I can’t help but applaud the combination of the speech from Kevin Spacey over Lelouch and opportune scenes from Code Geass. Bravo.

AMV Happy!

Can’t help but smile at this one. So light and poppy.

AMV This Is Halloween

Hello old friend. This was my introduction to Soul Eater from years ago, and I listen to it every October (at least). Still impressed by the ability of whoever edited this to find enough dark scenes from Soul Eater to emulate the lyrics.

AMV Mmm Mmm Yeah Yeah!

No words. Just catchiness.

AMV – Animegraphy 2014 – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

Bit long, but I can appreciate it trying something even slightly different from most AMVs.

AMV How To Be A Human

My love for the song might be my bias here, but if there was to be an anime encapsulate it it would be No Game No Life’s unabashed flaunting of what it means to be human.

AMV – Woohoo!

BAM! Baccano! Can’t quite explain how the song works here, but it’s edited so spectacularly that I almost believe you could make any song fit the show if it had the same level of quality.

Code Geass AMV – Europa

I’m a Code Geass fanboy, in case that wasn’t clear by now. So, when I see an AMV take it and make the themes of it more melancholic and potent, I feel the need to weep for humanity and all our losses. An exceptional use of the show’s imagery.

AMV Watashi no Christmas

A weebtastic holiday-themed AMV. Don’t really care for the song here, as much as the warm and fuzzy scenes from anime.

Fact and Fiction – Anime MV ♫ AMV

Hyouka is the perfect anime and Houtarou Oreki the perfect character to embody the song “Fireflies” by Owl City, in my opinion.

AMV Know Your Enemy

Something about the visuals and calligraphy here makes Greenday’s “Troubled Times” feel bizarrely colourful (if that makes sense).

AMV THROWBACK

Yu Yu Hakusho and “Diamond Eyes (Boom-Lay Boom-Lay Boom)” by Shinedown. I’d be more surprised I ended up not liking the video.

AMV W.I.L.L.

Kuroko no Basket is the only anime I imagine resonating so powerfully with “Cut Above the Rest”, and I cannot stress how influential both the AMV and song have been for my confidence. Personal favourite of mine.

AMV Put Ya Guns On

I know this is supposed to be me explaining why the song and anime work together so well (not that they don’t here), but the song alone is just so… oddly compelling.

AMV – “Stack” – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

Like Haikyuu!!? Like “Boomin’ / Opera Trip Interlude” by TobyMac? Well, this is the AMV for you!

AMV Cold And Bloody

“Cool” doesn’t even begin to describe the amazing duo Lupin the III and Wale – Fashion Week (feat. G-Eazy) make. Strongly recommend if you’re a fan of the anime and rap.

AMV Transmutayshun

FMAB at its finest. “Come with Me Now” by Kongos really taps into the readable pathos of Ed’s character. Also a personally relatable song (and character).

AMV Run Baby Run

Join Bruno Mars – That’s What I Like with The World God Only Knows, and you get what you expected. Predictably fitting to put the two together.

AMV Just Funkin Dandy

Title says it all.

AMV Fun Fun Yum Yum

Hmm. “Bang Bang” in complimentary conjunction with Food Wars!? Hilarious perfection.

Yu Yu Hakusho AMV – Runnin’ (BokuChanSama)

[One Piece AMV] Running From My Heart ᴬᴵᴺᴵᴼ

I couldn’t pick between Yu Yu Hakusho and One Piece for this song, since they both add to it in their own ways, so let’s call this one an incredibly emotional tie. Spoilers for both.

[AMV] Hellsing► Legion of Monsters

You want “Legion Of Monsters” by Disturbed to dance in a power struggle for domination with Hellsing? You’ve got it! Gravelly greatness!

[Attack on Titan AMV] Light’em Up – Fall Out Boy

How could I not include Fall Out Boy on this list? Especially when someone made such an epic AMV using SnK as the backdrop.

「iBishie-Std」Gangsta Sexyᴹᴱᴾ

Okay hear me out on this one… Can you honestly argue against any of these characters being “gangsta”? I mean, damn.

YOU CAN’T DENY US! [Best in Show Bakuretsucon 2013] Gurren Lagann

“Satellite” by Rise Against over Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann may not be as hype as TTGL has proven to be, but it does a great job regardless.

Make A Move [ AMV ]

My introduction to both BLR and Icon For Hire. Punk. Emo. Angst. Whatever you wanna call it, it’s still something I can connect to, if even only through memory of my mood at that time.

AMV – Between Dogs and Wolves – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

Best. Black Lagoon. AMV. Ever.

AMV – Black Impulse – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

BLR + “All The Things She Said”? *Yuri shipping intensifies*

AMV – Bloody Ayase – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

Adds a disturbingly hilarious take on Oreimo.

AMV A Brainless Video

Awesome begets awesomeness and the Evil Dead Musical adds to the hilarity of HotD.

Code Geass AMV Viva La Vida

AHHHH! MY FEELS! (spoilers for Code Geass)

zoro-remember the name

Zoro owns this song. Period.

AMV – Steel Fenders – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

“Iron” by Woodkid & Fate/Zero. Fantastical feel to it.

AMV – Anime 101 – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

More of a humorous edited style AMV than having a particularly striking song to go with it, but I found it entertaining.

AMV Frontline

Hunter x Hunter being a spiritual successor of Yu Yu Hakusho in more ways than one it seems (tied with 40. AMV Throwback).

Professor Stein AMV – Unstable

Stein is such a lovably insane character and this song enhances his charm if anything.

Bend Hard, Play Hard [AWA Pro 2015 AMV – Avatar The Last Airbender]

Avatar meets “Can’t Hold Us” in such a delightfully wondrous way that I couldn’t help smile all the way.

One-Punchline AMV ಠ_ಠ

Ludacris. Saitama. All they do is win.

What The F@#%

Pretty meh about this one, honestly.

【AMV】Fate Zero/Our Solemn Hour

Chilling sometimes, but beautifully sung and befitting of Fate/Zero, in my humble opinion.

AMV Vendetta

Darker Than Black is cool. “Ignition” by TobyMac is cool. Do the math.

AMV Anime’s Got Talent

One of the funniest, most entertaining visual spectacles of a cross-over AMV I’ve ever seen. Love it.

Tilly-Tilly-Bom – Anime MV ♫ AMV

Ooooh. Spine-tingling. Kara no Kyoukai’s imagery really enhances the song’s eeriness.

AMV – John the Hellhound – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

Detective Edward Elric is on the case.

AMV – Devil’s Game – Bestamvsofalltime Anime MV ♫

“A Demon’s Fate” by Within Temptation and Madoka Magica. Can’t tell how suitable they are for each other, but I enjoyed them both separately, and think they function well to some degree as a pair.

Spanish Wolf – Anime MV ♫ AMV

While I haven’t seen Spice & Wolf at the time of writing this, the combination of its gorgeous aesthetic and world, along with the charming presentation of its characters through imagery alone, and the celtic song “Spanish Lady” is such a sensational experience that I consider it my favourite AMV of all time.

And that’s it. There were a lot of good AMVs to sift through, and while I may not like all of these ones, many are among my favourites. What did I miss?

~ Ace

Leave a Reply

